Windows 11, by default, does not display a delete confirmation message when a file is deleted. Instead, the file or folder is immediately sent to the recycle bin.

Although this may seem like a faster way to delete your files, it is not perfect. You might end up moving something to the recycle bin inadvertently. Luckily, Windows 11 includes a feature that you can configure that will bring up a delete confirmation dialog.

Enabling it will add one more step to the erasure process, helping you avoid accidental file deletion. Here’s how to make Windows 11 show a confirmation message when you delete a file or folder.

How to enable a delete confirmation dialog message in Windows 11

To enable the delete confirmation dialog in Windows 11, right-click on the Recycle Bin from the desktop and select Properties on the menu.

Press the box “Show dialog to confirm deletion”In the tab general to activate it. Here you can also limit the disk space used by the recycle bin, if you wish.

Then click Apply and in To accept to save your choice.

You can quickly test whether the dialog is active or not by trying to delete a file. To do this, right-click on a file you want to delete and click the icon. deletion (trash) off the menu to try it.

YOU CAN ALSO READ:   How to view the print queue in Windows 11

At this point a dialog box of “Delete confirmation“. This will give you the opportunity to change your mind, or verify and confirm that you want to move something to the Recycle Bin. Click on “Yes”To delete or in“No” if you change your mind.

Remember this doesn’t permanently delete the file, it just moves it to the recycle bin for storage before you delete it.

How to disable the delete confirmation dialog

If you want to disable the confirmation dialog at any time, you will have to repeat the steps.

Right-click on the Recycle Bin and select Properties. Uncheck the box “Show dialog to confirm deletion”And click To accept to save your choice.

How to add the recycle bin to the desktop

Note: If you don’t see the recycle bin on your desktop, you can add it. In fact, you can add other system icons that are missing from the desktop.

First, right-click on the desktop and click Personalization.

On Setting, scroll down on the left side and click Topics.

In the menu Topics, click on Setting of the desktop icons in the section “Related settings“.

Check the recycle bin and any other system icons you want to add to the window. Desktop Icon Settings, even the classic Control Panel if you wish. When you’re done, click To accept.

Recover files from Recycle Bin

If you send files to the recycle bin by mistake, you can get them back (as long as you haven’t emptied it before). Open the Recycle Bin via Desktop, then find and right-click the file (s) you need to recover. In the context menu, click Restore.

YOU CAN ALSO READ:   How to turn off transparency in Windows 11

If you only have a few items to restore, click to highlight the files.

Then click on the button “More options”(Three dots) located in the upper right corner and select“Restore selected items“. Your files should reappear in their original location.

From here, you can also restore everything in the recycle bin or empty it. To do this, press Restore all items.

Turning on delete confirmations in Windows 11

Enabling the delete confirmation dialog in Windows 11 will prevent files from being accidentally deleted. However, if you like the streamlined workflow that avoiding the extra dialog prompt, you can always change it back.

If you accidentally send files to the recycle bin, don’t panic – go back in and restore the files manually. This is, of course, if you haven’t configured your recycle bin to empty automatically in Windows 11. If space is a problem, you may want configure Storage Sense in Windows 11. This will help you save storage space by automatically deleting files that you are not using.

Write A Comment