if we wish remove a bill from CashApp, we can’t do it from the app; we also cannot delete the transaction history permanently. For this, we are going to have to completely delete the account and from a web browser.
Before deleting Cash App account
Before proceeding to delete the Cash App account, we have to consider a few things. The first thing would be to delete the account, it is something permanent. There is no option to temporarily delete an account or deactivate it; as we would find in various social networks.
Additionally, by limiting the account, all data found in it is permanently deleted. We can always create a new one, although Cash App will consider it as a completely new one. Account history, at least for a certain period of time, is permanently deleted for us.
Cash App states that, as a financial institution, they are legally required to maintain various transaction records and account information, it is not said what this information is, but we do not have access to it in any way.
If we decide to delete the account, it would be advisable to download its history first; we may need to refer to it in the future and if we delete the account, we will have no way to recover it.
Download account history
In order to download the history, we will have to login to Cash App from a desktop browser. We will log in from the main website and go to “Account Statements” in the upper right corner.
Now we are going to have to click on “Export CSV” at the top of the drop-down menu that appears. The history file will be downloaded as a CSV file.
Delete Cash App account forever
Now we are going to have to look for the “Support” option.
On the next screen we can see a list of main topics. Here we will have to press “Something else” at the bottom.
A list of other topics will then appear. We will have to look for the one that says “Account Settings”, it is located near the bottom.
Again, we will see a list of options. Here we go right to where it says “Close your Cash App account”.
A pop-up window will appear asking us to confirm the action, so we are simply going to click on “Confirm”.
From this moment on, your account will be permanently deleted and you will no longer have access to it or its data.