On many occasions we will need to share a document from Googlebut we want it to be private, that only very specific people can have access to it. Is it possible? Fortunately, Google Docs has an option to share it privately, only with the people we select.
The first thing we will have to do is enter the document that we want to share and click on the “Share” button that is located in the upper right corner of the screen.
A “Share with people and groups” popup will appear.
Here we will have to write the name of the person or group in the field just below the title. If the person is in your contact list, they will appear for selection; if not, we will have to write your exact email.
Once we have added at least one person, we will see a box on the right that says “Editor”. We’ll click here to see a drop-down menu that will allow us to select what kind of access it will have to the document.
- View: You can only view the document, you cannot comment or edit.
- Comment: The person will be able to add comments.
- Editor: You can add comments and edit the document.
We can also modify the amount of access that editors, commenters and readers have to the document by clicking the gear icon to access the settings in the upper right corner of the popup box. We will uncheck the boxes in the settings window, we can prevent editors from being able to change permissions or share the document and prevent editors and commenters from downloading, printing or copying the document.
After we finish setting everything up, we’ll need to make sure to check the “Notify People” box if we want to send an email telling them about the document; The next field allows us to add a custom message to Google’s default email.
We also have the possibility of obtaining the link to the document with which we can share it through any application or social network. Just below “Share with people and groups” we will find the link that we will have to share to achieve it.